Purple Cane Tea House @ Ipoh, Malaysia

DSC_7813
Purple Cane is located in the building where the famed Foh San dim sum place used to be and has given it a new life.   The building is rather unattractive on the outside with no fancy signage but once you step in, it’s a completely different world.    

DSC_7810
DSC_7765 In a faux al fresco environment with skinny trees, natural light shining through a covered sky well, Purple Cane is a marvelous place to enjoy a meal.

DSC_7790
DSC_7791
DSC_7795
The food in Purple Cane screams ” Eat me! Eat me ! I am healthy and tasty”, where tea plays a major role in every dish.  Gary’s lunch set was fulfilling with pan-fried crispy fish and yam rice which had a bit of salted vegetable in it.

DSC_7797
DSC_7799
The tea pot that came with the set was not entirely tea but “tea soup” which used oolong tea as base with subtle traces of Chinese herbs.  I’ve always liked dobin mushi in Japanese restaurants though I thought the tea pots are tiny and the soup is easily finished after a few shots.  The sizable pot with substantial amount of tea soup definitely satisfied soup monsters like Gary and me !

DSC_7782
My bak kut teh chicken noodle (RM 16.90) was light-bodied, with tea being the domineering flavor instead of Chinese herbs, as opposed to the usual bak kute teh which is much darker in color and the essence of Chinese herbs overrides the tea flavor.  The squiggly noodles are home-made and added a fun texture to eating.  The chicken though, perhaps cooked too long had lost its flavor.

Purple Cane Ipoh 10
The sweet potato balls (RM 6.90) were deep fried so well they were hardly oily, just chewy and lightly sticky.  I was quite interested at the “green tea dipping sauce” as written on the menu, but it was more similar to green mayonnaise

DSC_7784 DSC_7778
Our teas – my eight treasures tea (RM 9.9) and Gary’s Puer Tea (RM4.9).

DSC_7806Private rooms area available with Japanese tatami floor mats.

DSC_7808
DSC_7811
If you enjoyed any of the teas, the tea shop is just right next door for some shopping 🙂

More Info
Purple Cane Website
Address: 2. Jalan dato Tahwil Azar (Osborne Street), 30300 Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia.
Opening Hours : Daily 9 am – 10 pm
Tel : + 605 253 3090

About KJ @ alwaystravelicious.com

I am KJ! Hop in, and enjoy a ride with me on my travel escapades and food trails.
This entry was posted in Ipoh, Malaysia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Purple Cane Tea House @ Ipoh, Malaysia

  1. Pingback: 34 Cafes to visit in Ipoh | Always Travelicious !

  2. Choi Yen says:

    I was immediately attracted by this Purple Cane when I first read it at somewhere else, very relaxing environment~

Leave a comment