Great Market Hall @ Budapest, Hungary

DSC_5806
The Great Market Hall or Central Market in Budapest is more than a 100 years old built in 1897.  With its yellow and green Zsolnay tiling that ornate the roof, the three floored market with high ceiling is a stunning place to do a bit of shopping and indulge in local Hungarian cuisine.   
DSC_5773DSC_5741
The market’s interior.

DSC_5735
The ground floor where you enter mostly consists of fresh produces such as fruits & vegetables,

DSC_5763
spices,
DSC_5739DSC_5756
meats and sausages – I think these white chunks are pure fat ? – what do the Hungarians do with it?

DSC_5755
cheeses,

DSC_5730
canned items,

DSC_5731
DSC_5740
liquor,

DSC_5760DSC_5734
and cakes.

DSC_5749
I was really excited to see the Dobos Torte because it was something I tried to bake years ago without knowing what it tastes like and now I can finally try the flavor of this classic Hungarian delight.  The glossy layer on top is caramel, still sticky to the touch yet it crunches as you take a bite into it – this part is the only part that’s worth mentioning.  The alternating layers of chocolate cream and dry cake layer are disappointing.  I guess I probably shouldn’t be too stringent because the cake was only 0.50 Euros.

DSC_5768
As you go up to the first floor, souvenirs and local Hungarian food are available.

DSC_5771
Other than the typical souvenirs like postcards and magnets, I like the Hungarian dolls,

DSC_5770
embroidered table mats

DSC_5769
and embroidered shirts.

DSC_5774
The food section is the most sought after section of the market, especially during lunch hours.  I paced back and forth before settling on the wrapped cabbage because I wanted something light.

DSC_5775
DSC_5797
Despite looking like a rather averaged sized cabbage in the display window, a plateful arrived with the stuffed cabbage almost the size of half the plate, with paprika flavored sauerkraut filling up the other half.  So it wasn’t exactly “light” as I thought (1190 HUF, about 4 Euros).

DSC_5799
Everything you see here is is laced with paprika, from the cabbage to the stuffing of meat + rice to the sauerkraut; I enjoyed the sour dish with heavy stuffing.

DSC_5776
It was a pity that I could only try one thing! This langos store seemed to be very popular as there were a lot of people queuing for it.

DSC_5779
The folded up version of the langos is called “rustic langos”!

DSC_5789 DSC_5787
These copiously stuffed sandwiches looked heavenly.

DSC_5790
DSC_5777 DSC_5778
Choices for sausages are plenty.

DSC_5800
Goulash soup which I am still yet to try.

DSC_5781
And there’s always something for the sweet toothed.

DSC_5802
These sweet pancakes are the size of small pizzas and the ingredients are used lavishly – check out the 5 kg nutella bottle at the corner!

DSC_5804
The basement floor seems to be less frequented and not all the shops are occupied.  There’s a supermarket, fish stores,

DSC_5737
meat stores,

DSC_5805
and catch a smiley hello from the pickled vegetables at this almost forgotten floor 🙂

Central Market Information
Address: Vámház körút 1-3; Budapest, Hungary; 1093.
Tel: 366-3300
Opening Hours : Mon 6 am – 5 pm.  Tues – Fri 6 am – 6 pm.  Closed on Sundays.
Getting there : Via Tram 2, 47, 49, trolley bus 83.

About KJ @ alwaystravelicious.com

I am KJ! Hop in, and enjoy a ride with me on my travel escapades and food trails.
This entry was posted in Budapest, Hungary and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Great Market Hall @ Budapest, Hungary

  1. Jeff says:

    This will definitely be in my places to visit when I’m in Budapest tomorrow! Can’t wait for it!

  2. skd says:

    Wow! Wish I could get hold of one of those cute dolls and an embroidered shirt for my girl. They are so pretty…

  3. SG says:

    I searched high and low for a special book on Hungarian and Austrian coffee houses and when I did find one I was mesmerised by the enchanting interiors and continental treats including the famed Dobos Torte. Lovely travel post, KJ, you’ve inspired me to Budapest to my list of must-sees.

  4. There are some great pictures here KJ, I love the sausages.

  5. askan says:

    Very nice pictures you posted. They give a good overview on the market. I think the market hall has a fantastic architecture and interior, but the products / produce do not meet this splendour. Too much is focused on Hungarian clichés like peppers etc. Would I visit it again. Yes, just to prove me wrong 🙂
    Here is my view on the market hall: http://askan.biz/2014/05/29/central-market-hall-budapest-hungary/

Leave a Reply

